Black Tie International Magazine 
Select your preferred language
Celebrity Philanthropy News
Society News
Save the Date 2024
Black Tie
International Real Estate
Joyce Brooks
Gerard Mc Keon
Nightlife with Rose Billings
Dr. Judy Kuriansky
Meera Gandhi
Black Tie  TV
Impact Investment
Featured Foundations
Co-Hosting Events
Listing Non-Profit Events
Black Tie China
Black Tie France
Black Tie Israel
Black Tie Philippines
New York Society
Palm Beach Society
International Society
Hampton Society
West Coast Society
U.S. Society
Philanthropy  Giving
Entrepreneurial & Philanthropy Awards
Event Resource Directory
Promote your Services
Event Talent Directory
Feature Your Talent
Couture Fashion
Fine Wines
 Health & Wellness
Interior Design
Investigative Services
Kids on Location
Legal Services
Luxury Yachts
Pet Services
Private Air
 Real Estate
Recommended Reading
Restaurant Reviews
Single Friendly Events
Social Announcements
Sustainable Investment
Wealth Management
Add your e-mail
of Black Tie

Black Tie Classic
George Clooney
Princess Diana
Back Issues
More Back Issues

























































































































































































































































































































































Save the Date October 19, 2023
Share this page with your friends

Black Tie International Magazine:
Women's Media Awards

Womens Media Awards




The 2023 Women’s Media Awards


Mariska Hargitay

Fredricka Whitfield

Karen Lincoln Michel

Emily Ladau

Koritha Mitchell

Akila Radhakrishnan


Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan, and Gloria Steinem
 the Co-Founders of The WOMEN’S MEDIA CENTER
announce the honorees for the 2023 Women’s Media Awards,
 to be held on Thursday, October 19th,
 at the
Whitby Hotel in New York City

The WOMEN’S MEDIA CENTER 2023 Women’s Media Award Honorees are:

·        Mariska Hargitay, Emmy-winning actor, director, producer, activist, Founder & President of the Joyful Heart Foundation, will be honored with the 
WMC Sisterhood is Powerful Award.

·        Fredricka Whitfield, CNN News anchor, will be honored with the WMC Pat Mitchell Lifetime Achievement Award.

·        Karen Lincoln Michel, President of ICT, formerly Indian Country Today, and President and CEO of IndiJ Public Media, will be honored with the WMC Carol Jenkins Award.

·        Emily Ladau, Disability Rights Activist, author of Demystifying Disability, will be honored with the
 WMC Progressive Women’s Voices IMPACT Award.

·        Koritha Mitchell, award-winning author, cultural critic, literary historian, professor of English, will be honored with the WMC Progressive Women’s Voices IMPACT Award.

·        Akila Radhakrishnan, President of the Global Justice Center, will be honored with the
WMC Progressive Women’s Voices IMPACT Award.


“The Women’s Media Center’s call to action is simple: We want to see more diverse women, hear more diverse women, and, read articles from more diverse women across all media platforms. Our Women’s Media Awards honor champions for women who set the standard for what media should look like when it gives voice to the female half of the country. They are role models, history-makers, and inspiring leaders,” said  Julie Burton, President & CEO of the Women's Media Center

Women’s Media Awards Co-Chairs are:
Loreen Arbus, Melinda French Gates, Anne Kiehl Friedman, Cindy Holland, Helen LaKelly Hunt, Susan Pritzker, Lynda & Stewart Resnick, Sheryl Sandberg, Regina K. Scully, Alexandra Shiva, Mary & Steven Swig, Darren Walker, Jenny Warburg, and Sophia Yen.

Proceeds from these awards support the work of the

Past WMC honorees include
Luvvie Ajayi, Christiane Amanpour, Amma Asante, Laura Bates, Samantha Bee, Ursula Burns, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Katie Couric, Abigail Disney, Sady Doyle, Mona Eltahawy, Fatima Goss Graves, Maria Hinojosa, Cindy Holland, Sarah Hoye, Gwen Ifill and Judy Woodruff, Sheila C. Johnson, Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal, Ashley Judd, Maria Teresa Kumar, Laura Ling and Lisa Ling, Lara Logan, Andrea Mitchell, Pat Mitchell, Martha Nelson, Soledad O’Brien, Salma Hayek Pinault, Elianne Ramos, Joy Reid, Robin Roberts, April Ryan, Anita Sarkeesian, Regina K. Scully, Mary Thom, Marlo Thomas, Barbara Walters, Padmasree Warrior, Lindy West,
and Maggie Wilderotter.


To buy tickets or for more information about the
 2023 Women’s Media Awards
 and the ongoing work of the 
go to:




Founded by Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan, and Gloria Steinem, the WOMEN’S MEDIA CENTER (WMC) is a feminist organization that works for gender and racial inclusion, representation, and equality in media.  The WMC mission is to make diverse women visible and powerful in the media.  WMC programs address unequal representation and misrepresentation of women in media through interconnected strategies to: 

  1) Research, document, and produce reports in the WMC Media Lab that highlight the status of women in U.S. media, equip activists with evidence, and create benchmarks to hold media accountable for sexist and racist coverage;

2) Train women leaders and experts to be effective in media and increase their thought leadership through WMC Progressive Women’s Voices and customized training and leadership programs;

3) Recruit and promote diverse women experts to the media through WMC SheSource; and,

4) Investigate, report, and publish original online and on-air journalism to expand diverse women’s voices and representation.




To list an Upcoming Event

Save the Date
Celebrity Philanthropy News
Society News

Black Tie Magazine TV

Promote Your Event or Business

Event Resource Directory,   Promote your Services
Event Talent  Directory,  
Feature your Talent
Co-hosting events with
Black Tie Advertising

«  Back to Home





Joyce Brooks Jewellery


Black Tie  International Philanthropy

Meera Gandhi

Featured Save the Date


International Polo Charity Ball


Black Tie International Realty


Featured Foundation


Peace Angel Project

avazoo logo

Launch of the First
Billion Dollar Charity Raffle


Couture Fashion


Bridal Store


Black Tie Gift Selection


Black Tie Gift Selection


Featured Art


 Society News

Ocean emergency

Black Tie Magazine Gala
Carnegie Hall Opening Night
Casirta Maria
Zodiac Ball
Eliabeth Taylor Gala
Texas Heart Institute
Womens Foundation Gala
Meera Ghandi

Pamea Anderson


Prince Albert Gala


Featured Foundations

chuck feeney

Search the Site



Impact Investment

carbon geocycle

Black Tie China

lang lang foundation

Black Tie Philippines

City in a forest
black tie philippines

Nightlife with Rose Billings

Met Gala
sara Johnson
debutante Ball
Judy Kuriansky
Gerard Mc Keon

Celebrity Philanthropy News

sera Vergera
nicole Kidnman, jennifer Aniston
jean shafiroff, paul mc cartney
princess margaret of kent
Al Pacino, American Icon Awards
clive davis
american hospital of paris foundation
french heritage society
lupus research alliance
un women for peace
ben kingsley
ceylon tea party
Blavk Tie Gala
joyce brooks
central park conservatory
UN Correspondents Association
cardinal dolan
palm beach heart ball
vienese opera ball
lady in red gala
sanford stem cell
weizmann institute
carlos slim
israel 65th anniversary

Black Tie International Realty

secret paradise resort

Event Resources Directory

event resource directory



Copyright 2006 Black Tie Magazine. All Rights Reserved .

Privacy Policy |